Barber: ‘I’d have loved to work with Lamb’

Glynis Barber as Glenda MitchellGlynis Barber has admitted that she would have liked the opportunity to work with Larry Lamb on EastEnders.

The actress never shared any scenes with her screen ex-husband as his villainous alter ego Archie Mitchell was killed off before her character Glenda arrived on Albert Square.

Speaking to Inside Soap, Barber revealed: “I was introduced to Larry Lamb at the British Soap Awards. It was the first time I’d ever met him, so I kept saying, ‘Larry, I’m your wife!’. I think he must have thought I was demented – I’m not sure he knew who I was!

“I would’ve loved to have worked with Larry on the show. We talk about Archie all the time and Glenda has all this history with him – yet I’ve never filmed a scene with him.”

Barber also paid tribute to the rest of her screen family, explaining that she is thrilled to be working with Samantha Womack (Ronnie), Rita Simons (Roxy) and Barbara Windsor (Peggy).

She said: “We all feel really connected to each other. Sam Womack and Rita Simons are like sisters, and I’m their mad mother. I’m so privileged to be working with Barbara Windsor as well – I love her to bits. I can’t get my head round the idea she’s leaving.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment